For the 15th year in a row, the Dublin Film Critics Circle (DFCC) have selected their favorite works for the year. This year’s nominees and winners  have been announced and the big winner is Jane Campion’s The Power of the Dog. The New Zealand director’s already highly acclaimed adaptation of Thomas Savage’s neo-western won best film, best director, best screenplay and, for Benedict Cumberbatch, best actor at the annual poll.

The Dublin Film Critics Circle comprises professional critics working regularly in the Irish capital. The body also hands out awards at the Virgin Media Dublin International Film Festival


  1. The Power of the Dog
  2. Dune
  3. Nomadland
  4. The Green Knight
  5. Another Round
  6. Promising Young Woman
  7. The Father
  8. Minari
  9. Pig
  10. Azor


  1. Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
  2. Denis Villeneuve, Dune
  3. Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
  4. David Lowery, The Green Knight
  5. Steven Spielberg, West Side Story
  6. Céline Sciamma, Petite Maman
  7. Leos Carax, Annette
  8. Michael Sarnoski, Pig
  9. Darius Marder, Sound of Metal
  10. Ben Sharrock, Limbo


  1. Summer of Soul
  2. Acasa, My Home
  3. The Sparks Brothers
  4. To the Moon
  5. Gunda
  6. The 8th
  7. Breaking Out
  8. Love Yourself Today
  9. The Truffle Hunters
  10. The Rescue


  1. Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog
  2. Anthony Hopkins, The Father
  3. Oscar Isaac, The Card Counter
  4. Mads Mikkelsen, Another Round
  5. Nicolas Cage, Pig
  6. Steven Yeun, Minari
  7. Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah
  8. Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
  9. Luca Marinelli, Martin Eden
  10. Stanley Tucci, Supernova


  1. Frances McDormand, The Tragedy of Macbeth; Nomadland
  2. Kristen Stewart, Spencer
  3. Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
  4. Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog
  5. Natasa Stork, Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time
  6. Jodie Comer, The Last Duel
  7. Deragh Campbell, Anne at 13,000 Ft.
  8. Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter
  9. Claire Dunne, Herself
  10. Youn Yuh-jung, Minari


  1. Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
  2. Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
  3. David Lowery, The Green Knight
  4. Lawrence Michael Levine, Black Bear
  5. Thomas Vinterberg and Tobias Lindholm, Another Round
  6. Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
  7. Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
  8. Kelly Reichardt and Jonathan Raymond, First Cow
  9. Andreas Fontana and Mariano Llinás, Azor
  10. Ben Sharrock, Limbo


  1. Greig Fraser, Dune
  2. Andrew Droz Palermo, The Green Knight
  3. Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog
  4. Claire Mathon, Spencer
  5. Janusz Kamiński, West Side Story
  6. Daria D’Antonio, The Hand of God
  7. Caroline Champetier, Annette
  8. Gabriel Sandru, Azor
  9. Nick Cooke, Limbo
  10. Anthony Scott Burns, Come True


  1. Arracht
  2. To the Moon
  3. Rose Plays Julie
  4. Herself
  5. Wildfire